Responsible Riders OHV Education
The Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation Responsible Riders course provides a building block style learning environment.
These lessons include pre-ride inspection, starting and stopping, quick turns, hill riding, emergency stopping and swerving and riding over obstacles. You will also learn about protective gear, Idaho’s laws, rules and regulations, Idaho’s Off-Highway Vehicle clubs, rules of the road, places to ride and environmental concerns. Bring your friends and family, and meet new friends to ride with.
Who should attend?
Everyone! The course is a great way to get kids off to a safe start and refresh skills that may have been forgotten or were never taught. A parent must be present for riders under 16. IDPR Responsible Riders course offers courses for ages 6 and up.
What do I bring?
You must wear the proper riding gear at all times during training.
Bring the following:
How much does it cost?
Nothing. Your OHV certificate of number sticker pays for the class.
Do I use my own ATV?
Can I share an ATV?
No. The course is fast-paced and requires all operators to have an ATV.
What is the Riding Area like?
Riding areas around the state differ somewhat, but they all include the necessary facilities to complete all ATV lessons.
What are the benefits of completing the IDPR Responsible Riders Course?
The IDPR Responsible Riders course completion certificate meets Idaho’s OHV Education requirement outlined in Idaho Code 49-302 and is recognized in all of the Western States. Idaho recognizes OHV education completion certificates with the State logo or State OHV Program logo on the certificate. Idaho currently does not recognize ASI or MSF certificates.
What is the best way to find riding opportunities in Idaho?
Visit www.trails.idaho.gov and join a local OHV club.
Location (Park HQ at Malad Gorge)
99 miles E of Boise, ID
140 miles W of Pocatello, ID
33 miles W of Twin Falls, ID
245 miles NW of Salt Lake City, UT
Welcome kiosk at Malad Gorge (exit 147 from I-84) open 7 days a week 7:30am to 4 pm Memorial Day through Labor Day.